Meet Your UCOL 101 Instructor! | SIU University College

instructor

Meet Your UCOL 101 Instructor! Main Content

Instructor Email
Aimee Lemrise alemrise@siu.edu
Alyssa Weisenstein alyssa.weisenstein@siu.edu
Amanda Sutton asutton@siu.edu
Amber Manning-Ouellette amouellette@business.siu.edu
Andy Wang awang@siu.edu

Ann Garrett
agarrett@siu.edu

ann garrett


Ann Garrett is a senior lecturer in the Department of Curriculum and Instruction in the College of Education and Human Resources.  She is certified in elementary, secondary, and special education and is a school counselor in addition to holding an endorsement in ELL.  She is also a National Writing Project Fellos. A retired National Board Certified Teacher and public school teacher, she enjoys teaching pre-service teachers here at SIU-C where she has taught for the past six years.

Anne Moore anne.moore@siu.edu
Anthony Spearing ajsspearing@yahoo.com
Arlene Tan arlenet@siu.edu
Beth Scally
eascally@siu.edu

Beth Scally
Elizabeth Scally has been at SIU for more than 20 years, working at various positions within University Housing. Currently she is working with Graduate and Family Services. Beth has a Bachelor of Science Degree in Public Administration from Eastern Michigan University and a Master’s Degree in Higher Education, College Student Personnel from Southern Illinois University Carbondale.
Passionate about Saluki sports you can find her at most sporting events. Hobbies include photography, sports, reading, travel and music. Beth and her husband Mark have two children, Kristy and Sean and when not at Saluki events, they can usually be found at football, baseball and basketball games in and around Carbondale.
Bridgette Sargent bsargent@business.siu.edu
Brittany McElroy bmcelroy@siu.edu
Bryan Harrison bharrison@aviation.siu.edu
Candice Burnom cburnom@siu.edu
Carl Spezia powerguy@siu.edu

Casheena Sephens
sheoc1@siu.edu

casheena stephens


Casheena Stephens currently serves as a full-time UCOL 101 Instructor. She has earned a bachelor’s degree in Biological Science and a master’s degree in Workforce Education and Development (WED) specializing in “Adult Education” from SIUC. She is also currently a Ph.D. candidate in WED and her academic interest includes women and work, work-life balance, adult learning, workforce diversity, and program/curriculum development. Outside of the world of academia, she is a wife and mother of four beautiful children that love to keep her busy. Her hobbies include singing, dancing, traveling, and spending time with her friends and church family. Casheena is passionate about teaching, mentoring, and encouraging students to reach their fullest potential.  She is very excited to be your UCOL 101 Instructor this fall and assisting you to make your first year as a Saluki a success! 

Christopher Hinkle chinkle@siu.edu
Deborah Barnett dbarnett@siu.edu

Deborah Burns
dburns1@siu.edu

deborah burns


Deborah R. Burns is excited to be an instructor at University College at Southern Illinois University Carbondale! Having successfully defended her dissertation, Deborah R. Burns will graduate with a Ph.D. in educational administration with a specialization in higher education from Southern Illinois University Carbondale in December 2014.  During her doctoral studies, Deborah R. Burns was an instructor at Southern Illinois University Edwardsville and an academic advisor at Southern Illinois University Carbondale; she is happy to share her great experience with the university with her UCOL 101 students.  Deborah holds a M.A. in higher education leadership from New York University and a M.A. in English and comparative literature from Columbia University, New York.  Her research interests include education, surveillance, and media studies.​  In her free time, Deborah enjoys running and reading novels.

Denise McClearey denisem@siu.edu
Dennis Nasco dnasco@siu.edu
Derrick Williams dlw10@siu.edu
Donna Goodin dgoodin@siu.edu
Eileen Waldron ewaldron@siu.edu

Elyse Hiller
ehiller@siu.edu

elyse hiller

My name is Elyse Hiller and I work in the Financial Aid Office as the Coordinator of Compliance, Training and Outreach. I have worked in the Financial Aid Office for the last 7 ½ years.  Before my present position, I was a Financial Aid Advisor.  I received my Bachelor’s degree in Marketing and my Master’s degree in Higher Education, both from Southern Illinois University. I currently teach University College 101. I love teaching to help incoming freshmen adjust to college life, as well as share the multitude of wonderful opportunities SIU has to offer.  I am originally from Northbrook, Illinois and a true Cubs fan.  

Frank Grzych grzych@siu.edu
Gena Stack gstack@siu.edu
Jack Young jayo001@siu.edu
Jaime Conley-Holt jbcholt@siu.edu
James Mathias mathias@engr.siu.edu
James Mathias mathias@engr.siu.edu
James Phegley
Jason Hartz hartzj@siu.edu
Jeannie Killian jeannie@siu.edu
Jennifer Kennedy jkennedy@siu.edu
Joe Pineau jope@business.siu.edu
John Bro kbro@siu.edu
JP Dunn jpdunn@siu.edu
Julie Duston dunston@siu.edu

Justin Schuch
justinschuch@siu.edu

justin schuch


Justin Schuch serves as the Coordinator of Residential Leadership and Engagement for University Housing, working with the Residence Hall Association, Area Councils, and National Residence Hall Honorary. Justin works alongside University Housing staff to develop leadership opportunities and enjoys working with student leaders. Justin has a B.A. in Communication; Rhetoric and Public Advocacy, with a minor in Music, and a M.S. in College Student Affairs from Eastern Illinois University. Filling free time with traveling and thrift shopping, Justin has enjoyed being a part of the SIU community.

Kaila Tyner kaila@siu.edu
Karen Cross klcross@siu.edu
Karen Wolf kwolf@siu.edu
Karla Berry k.berry@siu.edu
Kathy Chonez kchonez@siu.edu
Katrina James kat.james11@siu.edu
Kevin Krongos kkrongos@aviation.siu.edu
Kristopher Marshall sheed@siu.edu
Leah Belsley
Lisa Peden lbpeden@siu.edu

Marcelene Cunningham
cunning@siu.edu

marcelene cunningham

Teaching is my passion! I have a bachelor's degree in Administrative Management, Master's Degree in Workforce Education and Development, and I am a PhD candidate in Curriculum and Instruction, specializing in Learning Systems Design and Technology. My research interests include, distance education, e-learning, blended learning, instructional design, and educational technology.  My teaching experience involves teaching online as well as face-to-face. I am excited about teaching UCOL 101 and I am looking forward to working with my students.

“Education is the most powerful weapon you can use to change the world" ~Nelson Mandela

Maria Delsing mariadelsing@gmail.com

Martinique Free
mfree@siu.edu

martinique free


Martinique C.G. Free, MPH is a graduate of North Carolina A&T State University in Greensboro, NC with a Bachelor of Science in Laboratory Animal Science. She also obtained her Master of Public Health Degree with a specialization in Communicable Diseases and Behavioral Health Science from the University of Pittsburgh-Graduate School of Public Health. She has had a variety of professional and volunteer experiences in the public health field within community-based organizations and on the local and state government levels. She is currently a doctoral candidate in the Department of Health Education and Recreation at Southern Illinois University.  Her research interests include: Health disparities, Health Equity, health promotion and disease prevention strategies among the college aged population, and social capital as it relates to the healthcare needs of disadvantaged youth. Martinique enjoys traveling and mentoring students as they strive to reach short and long term goals through strategic planning, which incorporates their life’s passions with their innate talents and potential. 

Mary Fischer cajun@siu.edu
Maryon King mfking@business.siu.edu

Meera Komarraju
meerak@siu.edu

meera komarraju


Dr. Komarraju is Professor & Chair of Psychology. She holds doctorates in Industrial/Organizational Psychology (Osmania University, India) and Applied Social Psychology (University of Cincinnati, Ohio) and has over 20 years of teaching experience at the graduate and undergraduate levels. She has also taught in Hong Kong and Singapore for SIUC’s Department of Management off-campus executive MBA program. Her research interests focus on individual as well as socio-cultural factors that influence motivation and performance as well as leadership in the workplace. Dr. Komarraju has been teaching Psyc202/UCOL 101-P since Fall 2008.

Melinda Yeomans myeomans1@siu.edu
Michelle Garrett michelle.garrett@siu.edu
Michelle McLernon mlernon@siu.edu

Nathan Meissner
nato@siu.edu

nathan meissner

Nathan Meissner successfully defended his Ph.D. dissertation in anthropology this fall with a concentration in archaeology. He previously attended Southern Illinois University for his MA, and St. Cloud State University for his BA. Since 2004, he has been involved with archaeological fieldwork focusing on the Maya of Guatemala, Mexico, and Belize. These experiences have been incredible, and he looks forward to sharing some of them with his UCOL students! Other than his passion for past human societies, he is also interested in the economic lives of people, especially human interactions with the environment. Nate enjoys hiking in the Shawnee National Forest, fishing, travel, and Saluki Football. He looks forward to a great semester with the incoming class!

Nicholas Guardiano
nguardia@siu.edu

Nick Guardiano


Professor Guardiano has taught at SIUC for 5 years, teaching UCOL 101 and various Philosophy courses. He received his Ph.D. at SIUC in Philosophy. He is originally from New York, and during his free time he enjoys philosophizing, playing and coaching volleyball, and hanging out in nature.

Nicholas Weshinskey
nick@siu.edu

nick weshinskey


Nick Weshinskey, M.S.Ed., NCC is a two time graduate of SIU and a third generation Saluki. He is licensed as a professional educator in the state of Illinois and holds a national board certification in counseling. In addition to teaching high school and college courses, Nick has experience providing crisis counseling and risk assessment in emergency rooms and police stations, as well as couple, family, substance abuse, child and adolescent therapy. Nick's interests include philosophy of education, men's issues in mental health, and ice cream.

Ras Michael Brown rasmlb@siu.edu
Renada Greer renadag@siu.edu
Ryan Podolak ryanpodolak@siu.edu

Ryan Reed
ryreed@siu.edu

ryan reed


My name is Ryan Reed. I was originally born in Dolton, Illinois. After spending my earlier years in Dolton, I relocated and spent the rest of my younger years in Flossmoor, IL. I later attended Homewood-Flossmoor High School. Having received my high school diploma from a two-year in a row, blue ribbon award recipient high school, I was predisposed to learning the importance of education. My life’s journey so far, has led me down paths of great success, recognition, and obstacles of failure. To this day, my ability to interact and understand various cultures and people, who may not share my culture or beliefs, brings me great satisfaction. Having originally attended SIUC beginning in 2008 as an undecided major, I was later accepted into the college of Engineering.  Three years afterwards I decided to change my major from Engineering to Public Relations, which would later resulted in my ongoing achievements: being on the dean’s list, having newspaper recognitions in Carbondale media, and receiving several rewards and honors. Having graduated with my Bachelors of Science Degree, December 2012 with a major in Public Relations and a minor in Psychology; it was during this time that was able to experience the freedom that only success can provide. I am currently in my final year of my Educational Psychology Program. I will be working with the high school education system upon completion of my Master’s Degree this coming spring 2015. I am here to be an advocate, mentor, and teacher for all people no matter what race, religion, gender etc. It is through my perseverance, my understanding that there is light at the end of the tunnel, my profound ability to teach and help support those around me through a simple conversation or event.

Sam Goodin
sgoodin@siu.edu

sam goodin

Hi, my name is Sam Goodin. I moved to Carbondale so long ago that my grade school, junior high school and high school are all gone. I can remember the war protests, Old Main burning and Halloween Celebrations, not the bad ones. I received my Bachelor’s and Master’s degrees from SIU. After finishing my graduate work, I worked at the University of North Dakota, Indiana University, California Sate University in Los Angeles and the last twenty years at the University of Michigan. I returned to SIU last summer to direct the Disability Support Services Office. I enjoy taking my boat out on the lakes, music at the wineries, the summer concert series and time spent with friends and family.

Samantha Schmidgall sschmid@siu.edu
Sandra McKinley
Sanjeev Kumar kumars@ce.siu.edu
Sarah Steinkamp steinkamp@siu.edu

Scott Rakow
scottrakow@siu.edu

scott rakow


Hello, my name is Scott Rakow. I graduated from Purdue University in 1989 with a Bachelors Degree in Hospitality Management. Having spent 22 years as a professional in the hospitality industry, I returned to higher education with a desire to teach young adults and earned my Master of Science in Education degree in May of 2013, right here at Southern Illinois University. My experiences teaching UCOL 101 have instilled a strong personal belief in the value of the course and the positive impact it can have on student success, both in college and in life. I am truly proud to be a part of the Saluki family and am eager to meet the next generation of Salukis arriving on campus this fall.

Sharon Walters sharon@siu.edu
Shawna Pope spope@siu.edu

Simone Becque
sdbecque@siu.edu

simone becque


Simone Becque is a Ph.D. candidate in the College of Mass Communications and Media Arts at Southern Illinois University. Her dissertation research is focused on television, the family and the home.

Stacye Saunders stacye@siu.edu

Stephen Grimmer
stephen.grimmer@siu.edu

steve grimmer


I grew up here in Carbondale, and spent much of my childhood tromping through the woods of the Shawnee National Forest. College studies took me to the University of Iowa (B.S., Mathematics), Kansas City Art Institute (BFA, Ceramics), and the University of Massachusetts at Dartmouth (MFA). I have taught at universities in Ohio, Illinois, and most recently was a professor of art at University of Manitoba for nine years.  I’m an avid cook, a maker of functional pots, and am a strong believer in the transformative powers of good pots on domestic life. When not teaching and making pots, I enjoy hiking, bicycling, and fishing. I have a loving wife, three beautiful children, and a mortgage.

Susann Pinter spinter@geo.siu.edu
Tarnisha Green green@siu.edu
Veronica Williams vdwilliams1@siu.edu
Walter Davis wdavis3@siu.edu

Walter Metz
wmetz@siu.edu

walter metz

Walter Metz is a Full Professor in the Department of Cinema and Photography at SIUC, where he teach film, television, and theatre history, theory, and criticism. He holds two Bachelor's degrees, one in Materials Science and Engineering and the other in the Humanities, from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. He has a Master's degree in Communication Studies from the University of Iowa, and a Ph.D. in Radio-Television-Film from the University of Texas at Austin. He is the author of over 50 refereed research articles and book chapters, and of three books: Engaging Film Criticism: Film History and Contemporary American Cinema (2004), Bewitched (2007), and Gilligan's Island (2012). Currently, he is hard at work on a new book about Dr. Seuss and Pixar Animation Studios.

William Recktenwald reckman@aol.com

Right Sidebar